Skip to main content

Two professors named AAAS fellows

Omar Farha and John Linehan will be honored in February at annual meeting in Austin

EVANSTON - Two Northwestern University faculty members have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest general scientific society.

Omar Farha of the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences and John Linehan of the McCormick School of Engineering are being honored for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. They will be honored Feb. 17 at the 2018 AAAS Annual Meeting in Austin, Texas.

Omar Farha
Omar Farha
Farha, associate professor of chemistry and a member of Northwestern’s International Institute for Nanotechnology, is being recognized by AAAS for pioneering contributions to the design, synthesis, application and commercialization of molecule-based porous materials, including metal-organic frameworks.

Blending chemistry and materials science, Farha’s research seeks to solve real-world problems that include energy, environmental and national defense challenges. He also is president and co-founder of NuMat Technologies, a startup that is commercializing nanotechnology first developed at Northwestern. The technology stores and separates gases more efficiently.

John Linehan
John Linehan
Linehan, a clinical professor of biomedical engineering, is being recognized for his contributions to lung physiology, for his leadership in building the infrastructure for biomedical engineering growth and education, and for advancing the understanding of the medical device innovation process.

Linehan’s research also focuses on health technology assessment and Food and Drug Administration regulation of medical devices.

Back to top