Skip to main content

Celebrating excellence in teaching

Five faculty honored with 2018 University Teaching Awards

Five faculty members will be honored with 2018 University Teaching Awards for outstanding performance and dedication to undergraduate education at Northwestern University.

Recipients of the University Teaching Awards will receive $7,000 as a salary supplement and $3,000 for professional development each year of the 3-year term. An additional $3,000 award will be given to the recipients’ home departments to support activities that enhance undergraduate education.

The recipients will receive their awards at an installation ceremony at 4 p.m. Thursday, May 24, in the Guild Lounge in Scott Hall on the Evanston campus. All members of the Northwestern community are invited to attend the ceremony and the following reception.

"Excellence in teaching takes many forms."

-Ron Braeutigam, Associate Provost

About the University Teaching Awards

The University Teaching Awards, which were created in 1992, are conferred through the Office of the Provost. These exemplary faculty demonstrate excellence in classroom teaching and represent innovative curricular leadership across the university. Recipients come from across all six undergraduate schools and NU-Qatar and are celebrated here for their contribution to student learning.

Published: May 14, 2018. Updated: May 29, 2020.