Skip to main content

Winter honors and awards 2018

Early-Career Award in Experimental Physical Chemistry

Emily Weiss
Emily Weiss
Northwestern professor Emily A. Weiss
 will receive the 2018 Early-Career Award in Experimental Physical Chemistry from the Physical Chemistry Division of the American Chemical Society (ACS).

The Physical Chemistry Division Awards recognizes outstanding scientific members each year in four categories. Weiss will be honored for pioneering contributions in the study and control of interfacial processes in colloidal nanocrystals, and charge transport in low-conductivity materials by electron ratcheting. Weiss is the Dow Chemical Company Research Professor and a Professor of Materials Science and Engineering (by courtesy) in the department of chemistry.

Weiss will receive the award at the Fall ACS Meeting, Aug. 19-23, 2018 in Boston.


Chinese Chemical Society Honorary Fellow

George Schatz
George Schatz
George C. Schatz, a Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry in Northwestern University’s Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences, has been named an Honorary Fellow of the Chinese Chemical Society. There are only 100 such fellows worldwide; the organization has more than 50,000 members.

Honorary Fellow is the highest honor awarded by the society and is given to “the distinguished chemists of the world who have made significant contributions to the advancement of chemistry as well as to the development of Chinese chemistry and the society,” according to a letter from the society. 

Schatz’s research involves theory and computation as it applies to problems in nanotechnology, properties of materials, macromolecular structures and dynamics, molecular self-assembly, optics, materials physics and biophysics.

Other Northwestern chemists named an Honorary Fellow include Tobin Marks (2015) and Chad Mirkin (2010).

Topics: Honors

Editor's Picks

Back to top