Skip to main content

Faculty recognized for diversity, inclusion, service at University

Three Northwestern faculty members, separately, and a group of four faculty members are being honored with annual awards from the Office of the Provost.

Regan Thomson
Regan Thomson

Regan Thomson and Sandra Waxman, both of the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences, will receive the Provost Award for Exemplary Faculty Service. This honor recognizes faculty members who engage with, build and support the Northwestern community.

“I am deeply grateful to Professors Thomson and Waxman for their extraordinary service across many years, which has benefitted students, faculty colleagues and the University as a whole,” Provost Kathleen Hagerty said.

Sandra Waxman
Sandra Waxman

Myrna García, also of Weinberg College, and the diversity, equity and inclusion committee of the physical therapy and human movement sciences department at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine will receive the Daniel Linzer Award for Faculty Excellence in Diversity and Equity. 

The committee is composed of Roberto Lopez-Rosado, Tobey DeMott Yeates, Ana Maria Acosta and Heather Henderson.

This award aims to build a more diverse, inclusive and equitable climate on campus and enhance diversity across the spectrum, including race, gender, religion, socioeconomic status, age and political affiliation.

Myrna Garcia
Myrna García

“Faculty play a crucial role in making Northwestern a more inclusive and equitable institution,” Provost Hagerty said. “Professor García has worked tirelessly to improve the climate for students, and professors Lopez-Rosado, Yeates, Acosta and Henderson are models for collaborating to make positive change in their department.”

The seven faculty members will be honored at a virtual reception in the spring.

Provost Award for Exemplary Faculty Service

Regan Thomson

In addition to his role as director of graduate studies in a department with 250 graduate students, Regan Thomson, professor of chemistry, has an impressive record of service to the department of chemistry, Weinberg College, The Graduate School (TGS) and the University.

<span>Roberto Lopez-Rosado</span>
Roberto Lopez-Rosado

He is a champion for graduate students within the department and across the University, serving on the TGS Advisory Council on Academic Affairs while also dedicating an extensive amount of time to serving on crucial leadership committees, including the college’s promotions and tenure committee and the Faculty Senate. 

Sandra Waxman

Sandra Waxman, professor of psychology, has contributed extensively to her department in part through her informal and formal mentoring of faculty colleagues and by building community, and she has served as chair of the University’s honorary degree committee.

<span>Tobey DeMott Yeates</span>
Tobey DeMott Yeates

As a co-founder of the interdepartmental Culture, Language and Cognition Program and a founding member of the Institute for Innovations in Developmental Sciences (DEVSCI) program, Waxman has had enormous impact on the scholarly community at Northwestern. In addition, her leadership of the work-life group of the Provost’s Advisory Council on Women Faculty resulted in policy revisions and improved communication on work-life issues.

Daniel Linzer Award for Faculty Excellence in Diversity and Equity

Myrna García

<span>Ana Maria Acosta</span>
Ana Maria Acosta

Myrna García, assistant professor of instruction in Latina and Latino Studies, has had enormous impact improving the climate for students through her many roles on campus, including Weinberg College advisor, faculty chair for the Residential College of Cultural and Community Studies and faculty advisor for La Alianza Latinx, an undergraduate student organization.

Through her work founding a diversity, equity and inclusion committee for Weinberg College advisors to her collaboration with many offices and staff across campus, García is a deeply committed champion of equity and inclusion. 

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee, physical therapy and human movement sciences

<span>Heather Henderson</span>
Heather Henderson

This committee of four faculty — Roberto Lopez-Rosado, Tobey DeMott Yeates, Ana Maria Acosta and Heather Henderson — took the initiative to facilitate difficult conversations and develop a comprehensive, ongoing effort to create a more inclusive department.

Their strategic planning has had an impressive impact on admissions recruiting, high school outreach and curriculum changes. They serve as a model for effective positive change within a unit.