Skip to main content

Winners of new faculty award announced

Two professors honored for their service to the University
Photo of professors Matthew Grayson and Babette Sanders

Northwestern University professors Babette Sanders and Matthew Grayson are the inaugural winners of the new Provost Award for Exemplary Faculty Service.

Sanders and Grayson were selected for their many years of outstanding service in their departments and their impact throughout the University.

The award, presented by the Office of the Provost, was created to recognize faculty members who have gone above and beyond in service and have significantly enhanced the quality of Northwestern as an educational institution and community of scholars.

“I am very pleased to name professors Grayson and Sanders as the inaugural recipients of this award,” Provost Jonathan Holloway said. “Through their service, which encompasses entrepreneurship, mentorship and leadership, these individuals have had a lasting impact in their departments and across the University. I look forward to continuing this award in coming years and honoring the service contributions of other faculty throughout Northwestern.”

Sanders is a professor of physical therapy and movement sciences at Feinberg School of Medicine and was instrumental in the creation of the Faculty Senate by-laws and advocating for shared governance. She has served in many leadership roles at the University including Faculty Senate president. Sanders has also provided extraordinary mentorship, especially to women faculty.

"I am honored to be selected for this inaugural award,” Sanders said. “Through my service to Northwestern, I hope I have helped make our community a stronger place for faculty, staff and students."

Grayson is a professor of electrical and computer engineering at McCormick School of Engineering. He is being recognized for the creation of programs including ETOPIA, a science-based theater outreach that has led to theatrical productions that attract more than 700 annual patrons, as well as the Global Engineering Treks, which allow freshman engineers to conduct 10 days of technological site visits to Germany and Israel. 

"Just as our undergraduates are encouraged to develop their diverse talents, it is humbling to know that faculty, too, can be recognized for going beyond curricular and research obligations to undertake unconventional creative endeavors within the university community,” Grayson said.

Grayson and Sanders will receive their awards at a ceremony held by the Office of the Provost on April 29.