Skip to main content

Fall 2018 honors and awards

American Physical Society

Teri Odom, the Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry and chair of the department of chemistry, and research professor Takashi Nishikawa have been named 2018 Fellows of the American Physical Society. The APS's fellowship program recognizes members who have made advances in physics through original research and publication or significant innovative contributions in the application of physics to science and technology. 


ACS Award in pure chemistry

Professor Danna Freedman has received the ACS Award in Pure Chemistry for her joint contributions to developing a molecular approach to quantum information science and harnessing diamond anvil cells as tiny, transparent synthetic vessels to create new chemical bonds.

This prestigious award is given to a chemist within ten years of his/her terminal degree and whose work demonstrates independence of thought and originality in research. The award dates back to 1931, with the inaugural recipient being Linus Pauling.

Danna will be honored at the Spring ACS National Meeting in Orlando in April 2019.