Skip to main content

Summer 2015 Honor Roll

Faculty, students and staff recognized for distinguished achievement

Kevin Boyle, the William Smith Mason Professor of American History, has been named a Public Scholar by the National Endowment for the Humanities. The Public Scholar program is designed to encourage scholarly work in the humanities for a general audience. Boyle will use the grant to work on his book, “Bartolomeo Vanzetti (1891-1927) and the Culture of Early 20th-Century Anarchism.” His book “Arc of Justice: A Saga of Race, Civil Rights and Murder in the Jazz Age” won the 2004 National Book Award for Nonfiction and was nominated for a Pulitzer Prize. 

Hani Mahmassani, director of Northwestern's Transportation Center, the William A. Patterson Distinguished Chair in Transportation and professor of civil and environmental engineering, has been awarded the 2016 Thomas B. Deen Distinguished Lectureship award from the Transportation Research Board. Mahmassani will present a paper at the board’s next annual meeting in Washington, D.C. His specialties include multimodal transportation systems analysis, dynamics of user behavior and transit network planning and design.

Back to top