Skip to main content

Faculty Task Force on Undergraduate Academic Experience Named

Input sought from Northwestern community for final undergraduate report to the provost

EVANSTON, Ill. --- A faculty task force to assess and improve the undergraduate experience at Northwestern University has been formed and will seek significant input from the University community to ensure that a wide array of perspectives are considered, Provost Daniel Linzer announced today.

The task force, chaired by Indira Raman, professor of neurobiology in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences, will undertake its work over spring and fall quarters, culminating with a report to the provost on findings and recommendations.

Input will be sought from faculty, students and administrators across the University to develop the recommendations for enhancing undergraduate academics and the overall undergraduate student experience.

Provost Linzer cited a 1988 report on the Northwestern undergraduate experience, known colloquially as the “Heyck Report.” The report, named after the late Professor William Heyck, an internationally respected British and Irish history scholar, “identified many issues that continue to be important areas of focus for the University today,” he said.

“Now more than 25 years old, the Heyck Report has had an enormous impact on Northwestern,” Provost Linzer said. “It is time to build upon that invaluable blueprint for undergraduate education with new perspectives that have emerged as Northwestern has become a more global institution and one of the most selective universities in the nation.”  

Task Force Members

• Steve Carr, professor, Material Sciences and Engineering, McCormick School of Engineering, and associate dean of undergraduate engineering

• Mesmin Destin, assistant professor, Human Development and Social Policy, School of Education and Social Policy

• Kimberly Gray, professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering, McCormick School of Engineering

• Robert Gundlach, professor, Linguistics, Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences, and director, The Writing Program

• Eszter Hargittai, April McClain-Delaney and John Delaney Research Professor, Communication Studies, School of Communication

• Candy Lee, professor, Communication Management and Strategy, Medill School of Journalism, Media, Integrated Marketing Communications

• Andrew Mills, assistant professor in residence, Journalism Program, Northwestern University-Qatar

• John Mordacq, Distinguished Senior Lecturer, Program in Biological Sciences, Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences, and PBS Laboratory Director

• Todd Murphey, Charles Deering McCormick Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering, McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Science

• Susan Piagentini, Charles Deering McCormick University Distinguished Senior Lecturer, Music Theory and Cognition, Bienen School of Music

• Indira Raman, Bill and Gayle Cook Professor, Neurobiology (chair), Weinberg School of Arts and Sciences

• Harvey Young, Associate Professor, Theatre and Performance Studies, School of Communication, and Director of the Interdisciplinary Ph.D. program in Theatre and Drama

• Laurie Zoloth, professor, Religious Studies, Bioethics and Medical Humanities, Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences, and faculty senate representative

Ex Officio Members

• Todd Adams, assistant vice president and dean of students

• Cheryl Berriman, representative of The Graduate School

• Ron Braeutigam, Harvey Kapnick Professor, Economics, Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences, and associate provost for undergraduate education

• Christina Kim, ASG executive vice president

• Michael Mills, associate provost for University Enrollment

• Riko Ohashi, ASG academics vice president

• Noah Star, ASG president

Staff support will be provided by Jake Julia, associate vice president and associate provost for academic initiatives, and Eileen McCarthy, director, Office of Change Management.

Editor's Picks

Back to top