Skip to main content

Tickets to 84th Annual Waa-Mu Show, ‘Gold,’ Go On Sale Jan. 6

The student-written, composed and choreographed musical coming this May

EVANSTON, Ill. --- “GOLD: THE 1936 BERLIN OLYMPICS,” Northwestern University’s 84th Annual Waa-Mu Show, is an original full-length musical that tells the story of ambitious athletes on their quest for glory at one of the most celebrated international competitions in history.

The new stage work is written, composed, choreographed and co-produced by more than 100 Northwestern students. Tickets will go on sale at 10 a.m. Tuesday, Jan. 6.

Presented by the Virginia Wadsworth Wirtz Center for the Performing Arts at Northwestern University and the Waa-Mu Show team, “GOLD” will be staged from May 1 to 10, at Cahn Auditorium, 600 Emerson St., on the Evanston campus.

The political unrest surrounding pre-World War II Germany brings a newfound tension to the traditional camaraderie and spirit of the games. The individuals who have trained their entire lives for this defining moment must, in the end, find the will to achieve their own personal best in a triumphant moment of shared victory.

Undergraduate student co-chairs Hannah Dunn, Kylie Mullins and Maxwell Rein -- all seniors -- lead the 2015 production team with artistic direction by David H. Bell. Bell, a Northwestern professor of music theatre in the School of Communication and an award-winning professional director, has worked extensively around the world.

Spring 2015 Waa-Mu performances of “GOLD” will take place at 7:30 p.m. Friday, May 1; 7:30 p.m. Saturday, May 2; 2 p.m. Sunday, May 3; 7:30 p.m. Thursday, May 7; 7:30 p.m. Friday, May 8; 2 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. Saturday, May 9; and 2 p.m. Sunday, May 10.

David H. Bell

David H. Bell, the production’s supervisor and director, is an internationally renowned director and choreographer. Bell, Northwestern’s Donald G. Robertson Director of Music Theatre, has been nominated for 44 Joseph Jefferson (“Jeff”) Awards and has won 11. Bell also has been nominated for London’s prestigious Laurence Olivier Award, among others. Ryan T. Nelson, the School of Communication’s music director, is the show’s conductor and music supervisor.

Waa-Mu Show history

The Waa-Mu Show began as a joint effort of the University's Women's Athletic Association (WAA) and Men's Union (MU) during the 1928-29 academic year. It soon garnered a reputation as one of \"the greatest college shows in America\" and has been an important launching pad for many respected performers.

Past cast members include Walter Kerr in the 1930s; Claude Akins, Sheldon Harnick, Cloris Leachman, Paul Lynde, Charlotte Rae and Tony Randall in the 1940s; Warren Beatty, Penny Fuller and Garry Marshall in the 1950s; Karen Black, Frank Galati, Ann-Margret and Tony Roberts in the 1960s; Laura Innes and Shelley Long in the 1970s; Gregg Edelman, Ana Gasteyer, and Megan Mullally in the 1980s; Zach Braff, Brian d'Arcy James, Heather Headley, Jason Moore and Kate Shindle in the 1990s and, more recently, Jenny Powers.

Tickets for the 2015 Waa-Mu tickets are $30 and $25 for the general public; $22 for seniors over 62 and Northwestern faculty and staff and educators; and $10 for full-time students with valid IDs (at the door).

For more information, or to purchase tickets through the Wirtz Center Box Office at the Ethel M. Barber Theater, 30 Arts Circle Drive, phone 847-491-7282, or online.

Topics: Music, Theatre
Back to top