Skip to main content

10 Years Of Celebrating Evanston’s Outstanding Volunteers

Joint venture recognizes volunteers from Northwestern, schools and community

EVANSTON, Ill. --- More than 90 Evanston community members joined Northwestern University, the Evanston Community Foundation and Evanston Township High School (ETHS) to recognize volunteers at the 10th Annual Evanston Volunteer Recognition Reception.

Eric Witherspoon of ETHS, Joan Gunzberg of Evanston Community Foundation and Todd Adams of Northwestern presented 12 recipients with 2014 Outstanding Volunteer of the Year awards.

The honorees were Monica Dougherty, Cameron English, Savannah Gallas and Ruby Macasi-Goren of ETHS; Virginia Beatty, Ruth Belzer, Juliet Bond, Lori Dube and Barry Lundberg of the Evanston community; and Fallon Crowley, Ushane Locke and Sarah Suh of Northwestern.

Northwestern University honorees:

Fallon Crowley has served on the Habitat for Humanity executive board as site coordinator, build committee head and current vice president. She works to educate her peers on the importance of supporting affordable housing initiatives both domestically and internationally.

Ushane Locke has volunteered throughout the Evanston community as a student at ETHS and continues to volunteer as a Northwestern student with Peer Jury, Evanston Youth Council, Student Council, Youth Action Ministries and Hemenway United Methodist Church with Project SOAR.

Sarah Suh has been involved with Northwestern University Campus Kitchens since her first year, working her way up from organization member and volunteer to president. The Sodexo Foundation also recognized Suh as the 2013 Stephen J. Brady STOP Hunger Scholar.

Mayor Pro Tem, Third Ward Alderman Melissa Wynne provided a special recognition for the Evanston 150 Group for their leadership in the campaign to achieve 150,000 hours of service in 2013. The final tally was 160,747 volunteer hours.

Each winter a call for nominations is sent out to all the nonprofit groups in Evanston, to various departments at Northwestern and to teachers at ETHS. A committee comprised of Northwestern students, teachers and community leaders selects the recipients.

The Evanston Volunteer Recognition program was founded in 2004 as a partnership between the City of Evanston, Northwestern, ETHS and the Evanston Community Foundation to honor volunteers that donate their time to help the Evanston community flourish.