Skip to main content

Search Committee Announced for Next Weinberg Dean

Coalition of students, faculty, staff and others to engage in search process

Northwestern University will soon begin a search for the next dean of Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences (WCAS).  This individual will succeed Dean Sarah Mangelsdorf, who is leaving Northwestern to become provost at the University of Wisconsin-Madison in August.

The search committee will be chaired by professor Wendy Wall and will include representatives from the faculty, staff, student body and the WCAS Board of Visitors. Although the search committee will be empowered to modify the process, the preliminary plan is to deliberate about internal candidates this spring and then to initiate a national search in the fall. Nominations from Northwestern faculty are now being solicited.

Search committee members are:  

  • Wendy Wall, professor, English, Avalon Foundation Professor of the Humanities, and director for the Alice Kaplan Institute for the Humanities, WCAS, search committee chair
  • Ravi Allada, professor and chair, neurobiology, WCAS
  • Frances Aparicio, professor, Spanish and Portuguese, WCAS
  • Craig Bina, W.V. Jones II Professor, Earth and planetary sciences, WCAS
  • Hannah Bredar, student, WCAS, Class of 2015
  • Chris Comerford, director of information technology, WCAS
  • Huey Copeland II, associate professor, art history, WCAS
  • Renee Engeln, senior lecturer, psychology, WCAS
  • Robert Gundlach, program director, writing program, WCAS
  • Laura Hein, professor, history, WCAS
  • D. Soyini Madison, professor and chair, performance studies, School of Communication
  • James Mahoney, Gordon Fulcher Professor of Decision-Making, Political Science and Sociology, WCAS
  • Charles Manski, Board of Trustees Professor, economics, WCAS
  • Dwight McBride, Daniel Hale Williams Professor, African American studies, WCAS, dean, The Graduate School, associate provost for Graduate Education
  • Teri Odom, professor, chemistry, WCAS, Faculty Senate Budget Committee
  • Daniel Rodriguez, Harold Washington Professor and Dean, School of Law,
  • Elizabeth Warnock, member, WCAS Board of Visitors

The committee will be staffed by:

  • Jake Julia, associate vice president and associate provost for academic initiatives
  • Celina Flowers, project coordinator, office of the provost
Back to top