Skip to main content

Winter 2014 Honor Roll

Faculty, students and staff recognized for distinguished achievement

The American College Dance Festival Association selected Susan A. Lee, a professor of dance in the School of Communication, and students from Northwestern’s dance program to represent the 2014 ACDFA North-Central Conference in this year’s National College Dance Festival. Students will perform “Impolite Society” by Jeff Hancock, a Northwestern dance lecturer. The performances will be held June 5, 6 and 7 at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C.

Elizabeth Rodriguez, a Ph.D. candidate in English at the Graduate School, has been awarded one of 10 Woodrow Wilson Women’s Studies Dissertation Fellowships. The Woodrow Wilson Women’s Studies program supports the final year of dissertation writing for Ph.D. candidates in the humanities and social sciences doing interdisciplinary and original work on issues of women and gender. Rodriguez’s dissertation, “Consensual Relations: Sexual and Political Subjectivity in England, 1550-1700,” evaluates the rhetoric and language of discourses of sexual and political consent in Renaissance England.

Phyllis Lassner, Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences professor of instruction, has been awarded a three-year Diamond Jubilee International Visiting Fellowship at England’s Southampton University. Lassner – who teaches in The Writing Program, Jewish Studies Program and Gender and Sexuality Studies Program -- was recognized for her research related to World War II and the Holocaust. She is the author of the book, “Anglo-Jewish Women Writing the Holocaust.” The Diamond Jubilee fellowship is awarded each year to outstanding senior scholars or mid-career academics with prodigious achievements in their field. 

Northwestern’s 2014 Presidential Fellowship, funded by the President of the University and awarded by The Graduate School, has been awarded to eight graduate students: Kristen Brown (chemistry), Katherine Leaderbrand (Interdepartmental Neuroscience Program), Robert Mills (communication studies),
 Jaimie Morse (sociology), 
Elizabeth Rodriguez (English), 
Lauren Smith (biomedical engineering/Medical Scientist Training Program),
 Joshua Townsend (Earth and planetary sciences) and Marlous Van Waijenburg (history).
 The students were each nominated by their respective academic programs as individuals who combine outstanding intellectual or creative ability with the capacity to play an active part in the life of the Society of Fellows. This highly competitive award is the most prestigious fellowship awarded by Northwestern.

Joseph T. Hupp, Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences, is a Pittcon 2014 winner of the Charles N. Reilley Award. The award honors scientists who have made outstanding contributions to analytical chemistry and applied spectroscopy. Hupp is recognized for his research that centers on energy and defense-relevant materials chemistry, electrochemistry and photochemistry. Hupp will be honored in March at the annual Pittcon Conference and Exposition in Chicago.

William Halperin, the John Evans Professor of Physics in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences, has been elected vice-chair of the Division of Condensed Matter Physics (DCMP) of the American Physical Society (APS). Halperin will serve four years: as vice-chair (2014), chair-elect (2015), chair (2016) and past chair (2017). The DCMP is the largest division of the APS, representing research areas ranging from solid-state physics, quantum liquids and solids, to soft-matter. As chair of DCMP, Halperin will oversee the March Meeting of the APS, the largest physics meeting in the world.

“The Geographical Encyclopedia in Hungary,” published by Northwestern University Press, has been awarded a 2013 National Jewish Book Award. Winners are awarded in seventeen categories of Jewish interest. The book, honored in the Holocaust category, was written by Randolph L. Braham. The National Jewish Book Awards is the longest-running North American awards program in the field of Jewish literature. Winners will be honored in March at the Center for Jewish History in Manhattan.

Roberto Vega-Morales, who earned a Ph.D. in physics from Northwestern last year, has received the 2014 J.J. and Noriko Sakurai Dissertation Award in Theoretical Particle Physics from the American Physical Society. The award recognizes young scientists who have performed original doctoral thesis work of outstanding scientific quality and achievement in the area of theoretical particle physics. Vega-Morales was recognized for his contributions to current and future investigations of the newly discovered 125 GeV Higgs boson.

Seth Stein, the William Deering Professor of Earth and Planetary Sciences in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences, has received the 2014 Price Medal from the Royal Astronomical Society. The Price Medal is awarded annually for investigations of outstanding merit in solid earth geophysics, oceanography or planetary sciences. Stein was recognized for his 35-year history of groundbreaking achievements in Earth sciences of global importance in numerous fields including plate tectonics, seismology and space geodesy.

Back to top