Skip to main content

Seven Is Heaven for Women's Lacrosse Team

Campus celebrates team's seventh national championship in eight years

The Northwestern community took a break from finals June 4 to recognize the University's most consistent champions -- the women's lacrosse team. The Wildcats won their seventh national championship in eight years when they defeated Syracuse in the championship game in Stony Brook May 27.

Northwestern's incredible dynasty of seven NCAA championships ranks second all-time behind the 10 won by Maryland between 1986 and 2010.

With all seven trophies displayed on the east lawn of Norris University Center, Wildcat fans enjoyed a free lunch and remarks from Dean of Students Burgwell Howard, Vice President for Student Affairs Patricia Telles-Irvin, Athletic Director Jim Phillips and Women's Lacrosse Head Coach Kelly Amonte Hiller. Players mingled with fans, signing autographs and showing off their latest championship rings.

"We really can't thank you guys enough for your support of this program," Amonte Hiller said. "It makes the difference."

Back to top